Showing posts with label doctor who. Show all posts
Showing posts with label doctor who. Show all posts

Saturday, July 10, 2010

Eureka and Co.

With the weather being so great so far this spring/summer, I haven’t been watching as much TV as I usually do – I’ve been more selective about what I’ve been watching…

  • I’ve always like Eureka – I like the cast a lot (although I think that Jordan Hinson (Zoe) made a big mistake leaving the show) and I think that the story line is different from anything else that is out there. I caught the season premier of Eureka last night and thought it was great – I think that this season is going to be the best one yet.

  • A new series started yesterday – Haven. It’s airing on SyFy, Bravo and USA, which I found kind of odd. Maybe other shows do that too, but I just never noticed… The previews looked really good, but the pilot didn’t impress me. I love Stephen King-type stuff, so I thought this would be really good. I’ll give it a couple more episodes, but if it doesn’t pick up, I’m going to leave this one by the wayside.

  • I’m behind on the Doctor Who episodes, but I’ve watched enough to know that Matt Smith can’t touch David Tennant with a ten-foot pole as The Doctor. I think Matt Smith is trying too hard or something… he’s just “off” to me somehow shrug I do like Amy Pond tho’ - she makes a good companion for The Doctor – and not annoying like Donna Noble was… she was like nails on a chalkboard to me…

  • Ice Road Truckers is always entertaining. Living near the perceived Snow-Capital of the world, it’s fun watching these guys – and lady – driving under less-than-ideal road conditions laughing Since they moved to trucking in Alaska, I can’t say that I can count any of the new people in with my favorites Alex (he looks sooo different without his beard!) and Hugh, except for Lisa – I want to see her do good…

  • This is a very sad season for Deadliest Catch. I’m going to miss Phil – he was my favorite

That’s about it for my must-watch TV, at least until the weather won’t let me work outside anymore… Other shows I’ll watch if I do have the time are Top Chef, Warehouse 13 and whatever Housewives of ______ County is on (Except Atlanta – that is the worst out of the bunch. Way too much much in-your-face yelling and arguing for me).

I think this is officially my post with the most number of hyperlinks in it.

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

This ‘n That Tuesday

  • I’m not digging the new Doctor so far. And they changed the opening music – I like the original better. I know it’s only been the first episode, but I really don’t think that Matt Smith fits the part. The story was good, but I want David Tennant back. Wah!

  • I think I may have beaten the starlings this year… so far so good. So far no starlings in my hallway. So far no starlings in my dryer vent. So far no starlings in my shed. I’m keeping my fingers crossed! crossed fingers

  • Why do guys all think that anything having to do with farts is funny?

  • The garbage man isn’t going to like me tomorrow. I’ve been busy cleaning up my yard this week. Anyone who knows my property, knows that the previous owners left a lot to clean up. I do know that they did clean up a lot, so things could be a lot worse, but there is still a lot left… This year I’m going to make an extra effort to get more cleaned up than I normally do. With the nice weather, I’ve made a lot of headway – yay me!

  • I’ve been hitting a lot of good numbers on my odometer lately. Today I passed 151515

  • After a lot of experimenting, Downy really is the best fabric softener – it gets everything way softer than any other fabric softener on the grocery store shelf. It is more expensive, but in this case you get what you pay for. The only thing with Downy tho’ – don’t pour it directly on your clothes because it will stain them…

  • My seedlings are doing good so far. The only things that haven’t come up yet are my pumpkins, watermelon and peppers. If they don’t start coming up this week, I’m going to put in some new seeds…

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

The Doctor

I watched Doctor Who a little bit when I was kid.  It was OK.  When I thought of The Doctor, Tom Baker was the image that popped in my head.  Him and that big scarf he always wore…  I watched it a bit, but wasn’t a die-hard fan.

In 2005, the SciFi channel (now SyFy) brought the series to their lineup.  Christopher Eccelston played The Doctor and I absolutely fell in the love with the series.  I thought he was the best Doctor ever.  I couldn’t believe it when he only stayed in the role for a year. 

“There’s no way anyone will be able to be even half as good in the part.”, I thought.

David Tennant became the Tenth Doctor.  That last episode of the 2005/Christopher Eccelston season, I was heartbroken.  But I decided to keep watching the series anyway.  Hey – you never know…

Well, I have to say that David Tennant is far and beyond the best Doctor that ever could be.  And now he is gone, too.

I am highly doubtful that I will like the new Doctor, but I’ll still give him a chance.  Hey – you never know…

Tardis